Region of Ionian Islands


The Ionian Island Region (IIR) is  one of the thirteen regions of Greece. It consists of 32 islands, of which 13 are populated: Othoni, Erikousa, Mathraki, Kerkira, Paxi, Antipaxi, Lefkada, Meganisi, Kalamos, Kastos, Ithaki, Kefalonia and Zakinthos. The above islands are spread along the western side of the Greek mainland, forming an island bridge which joins Greece, and by extension the East, with Italy and Western Europe. The Region forms an insular cluster in an environmentally sensitive area, which is characterized by increased sea traffic, fishing grounds of high interest both to Greek and other fleets (e.g. Italian, Albanian), and high touristic activity. A staff of around 270 employees of higher education covers an extensive scope of expertise, such as geology, environmental engineering, agriculture, animal farming, fish farming, rural topography, mechanical, electrical, chemical and civil engineering, electronics, informatics, infrastructure engineering, chemical engineering, food technology, health & welfare, social service, organization and administration of local authorities and financial planning and management. Its main competence is to plan, program, coordinate and implement the National Policies for the financial, social and cultural development of the region. <br>


  Type of Cooperation:

  Contact info: 

More Institutions in this virtual community:
Region of Istria Old Royal Capital Cetinje Asit Regional Council of Lezhë