Regional Council of Durrës


Durrës County (Albanian: Qarku i Durrësit) is one of the 12 counties (also known as regions) of Albania. It is located in the center-north part of Albania on the Adriatic coast. The capital is the city of Durrës. The Region is the second-level units of local government, while the municipalities and communes are considered as basic units of local government. The Regional Council consists of several members, who are elected by the councils of the local basic units (Municipality Councils). The Chairmen and Vice Chairman of the Regional Council are elected by the members of this council.<br>The city of Durrës remains a major seaport and commercial centre, with a significant fishing and industrial sector. Durrës County has grown in importance in agriculture with very large-scale planting of olive and fruit trees. The city has become center of the food processing and oil export industries. Tourism has become a major industry in recent years, with many hotels, recreational centers, and beaches.<br><br>


  Type of Cooperation:

  Contact info:

More Institutions in this virtual community:
Friuli Venezia Giulia Region Regional Council of Lezhë Municipality of Kotor Regional Council of Tirana